When you remove a user from the current Study or Site, the user can still log in to OpenClinica, but can no longer access the Study or Site that they were removed from, and they cannot use the Change Current Study or Site feature to select that Study or Site. Removing a user from the current Study removes them from access at the Study level; it does not remove the user from any Sites they are assigned to within that Study. To remove a user from the Study level and from all Sites within the Study to which they are assigned, separately remove the user from Study and from each Site.
To remove a user from the current Study or Site:
- From the Tasks menu, in the Study Setup module, select Users.
The Manage All Users page opens for the current Study or Site. For more about the page, see View Users and Roles at Current Study or Site.
- Click the Remove Role icon for the user you want to remove:
- If you are at the Site level, you can only remove users from that Site.
- If you are at the Study level and you want to remove the user from the Study level, use the icon in the row for the Study.
- If you are at the Study level and you want to remove the user from a Site in the current Study, use the icon in the row for that Site.
The Remove User Role page opens for the user at that Study or Site.
- Verify the information, then click Confirm.
The Manage All Users page opens for the current Study or Site. The user you just removed is no longer listed in the table for that Site or Study.
- Repeat steps 2 and 3 if you want to remove the user at other Sites or the Study, or to remove additional users.
After removing a user from a Site or Study, you cannot restore them using the Study Setup module. Instead, use the Restore User feature in the Administration module.
You can remove a user from the OpenClinica system so that they cannot log in, and therefore, cannot access any Studies or Sites: use the Remove User feature in the Administration module.